Would you lease an XC40?

All Volvo XC40 related discussions
JMR

Post by JMR »

Hi,
I need to change my XC40 for one with Adaptive Cruise Control.
Unfortunately, it seems Volvo only include this feature bundled with other stuff I don't want (eg Sunroof) in their top of the range "ultimate" model.
I'm thinking B3, but the price point for "Ultimate" is too rich to buy on PCP - so I've looked at leasing it over 4 yrs with Volvo - which at face value, keeps the monthly repayments a bit lower etc etc.
I've no experience of leasing, and wondering if this is a good way forward?
Any thoughts very welcome.
R-Design T3 Auto FWD + Climate, Versatility, Power Seats & Park Assist. October 2020.

ChrisLF

Post by ChrisLF »

That's been my bugbear recently with Volvo, along with other manufacturers, forcing you to have a pano roof to get other things that you want.

Bear in mind that with PCP you will not own the car unless you pay the final payment and that even with leasing you won't have any warranty unless you extend it at your cost.

I think in the main leasing works best for business users who get a monthly allowance and are looking to change every 3 years or so.

But non-business users do do it as long as you don't mind putting down a lump sum and making the monthly payments for 4 years and then not owning the car at the end.

I've never leased, but thought about it with my new car. Given that with most of my cars over recent years on hire-purchase or PCP I've changed them at the end of the period or before then I've never actually owned them and leasing would probably have made more sense financially!
2023 B4 Plus Dark FWD in Silver Dawn. Tinted Rear Windows. Spare Wheel & Tow Bar dealer fitted.

Gone - 2019 T4 R-Design FWD in Bursting Blue. Winter & Convenience Packs, Power Seat, Front Park Assist, Rear Camera, Spare Wheel & Tow Bar.
Felindre

Post by Felindre »