2020my SIM Card

Faults and Technical chat for the Volvo XC40
Post Reply
Happningj
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 2:36 pm

2020my SIM Card

Post by Happningj » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:27 pm

Has anybody had a problem registering for a Vodafone account?
I get an error message from the Vodafone site saying I have to be connected to the car’s WiFi hotspot to register.
The car says I’m connected and I wouldn’t be able to see the Vodafone site if I wasn’t.
Apparently Volvo know it is a problem but has anybody managed fool it.
It still says it is using data.....

F11F37D9-76F2-4B1D-98F2-187AFC6EF047.png

XC40 T3 Inscription | Glacier Silver | Charcoal


stu22
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:36 pm
Location: Colchester

Re: 2020my SIM Card

Post by stu22 » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:40 pm

Think that's to do with the fact that the device you are using to register needs to be connected to the internet via the cars hotspot and not the devices own internet connection.


Happningj
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 2:36 pm

Re: 2020my SIM Card

Post by Happningj » Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:02 pm

Thanks,
It was connected to the cars hotspot, the car shows it as connected. The error is that for some reason the Vodafone site can’t see that it is connected. Did you already have a Vodafone SIM account or did you manage to register a new one?
XC40 T3 Inscription | Glacier Silver | Charcoal


stu22
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:36 pm
Location: Colchester

Re: 2020my SIM Card

Post by stu22 » Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:31 pm

I previously had a Three SIM in the car.
Have read that sometimes it takes a few attempts to connect but mine worked on the 2nd attempt to register.


hdasmith
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 7:16 pm
Location: UK

Re: 2020my SIM Card

Post by hdasmith » Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:30 am

stu22 wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:31 pm
I previously had a Three SIM in the car.
Have read that sometimes it takes a few attempts to connect but mine worked on the 2nd attempt to register.
Does that mean you had an earlier than my2020 car and managed to eat a card?!
Inscription Pro | Pine Grey | Amber Leather | D3 FWD Manual
Ordered 11th May 2018
Delivered 6th November 2018


stu22
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:36 pm
Location: Colchester

Re: 2020my SIM Card

Post by stu22 » Sat Sep 14, 2019 5:13 pm

hdasmith wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:30 am
stu22 wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:31 pm
I previously had a Three SIM in the car.
Have read that sometimes it takes a few attempts to connect but mine worked on the 2nd attempt to register.
Does that mean you had an earlier than my2020 car and managed to eat a card?!
No, we took delivery prior to them offering the SIM so I fitted a Three SIM however our dealer then posted us a Vodafone SIM, so swapped it over.


Moosexcvolvo
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:19 pm

Re: 2020my SIM Card

Post by Moosexcvolvo » Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:37 pm

Happningj wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:27 pm
Has anybody had a problem registering for a Vodafone account?
I get an error message from the Vodafone site saying I have to be connected to the car’s WiFi hotspot to register.
The car says I’m connected and I wouldn’t be able to see the Vodafone site if I wasn’t.
Apparently Volvo know it is a problem but has anybody managed fool it.
It still says it is using data.....
Happningj, Are you sorted, now? If not, I've just fitted my SIM this morning and had the same issue. I found a work-around by setting up an initial connection with the car's hot-spot etc., then navigated to the Vodafone 'register page' at which point I then turned off my phone's wi-fi and switched it back on, then clicked register and it worked. If I was already connected to the car's hot-spot prior to registering, I got the same message as you.

HB
MY20 | R Design Pro | D4 | Bursting Blue


stu22
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:36 pm
Location: Colchester

Re: 2020my SIM Card

Post by stu22 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 5:44 pm

Moosexcvolvo wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:37 pm
Happningj wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:27 pm
Has anybody had a problem registering for a Vodafone account?
I get an error message from the Vodafone site saying I have to be connected to the car’s WiFi hotspot to register.
The car says I’m connected and I wouldn’t be able to see the Vodafone site if I wasn’t.
Apparently Volvo know it is a problem but has anybody managed fool it.
It still says it is using data.....
Happningj, Are you sorted, now? If not, I've just fitted my SIM this morning and had the same issue. I found a work-around by setting up an initial connection with the car's hot-spot etc., then navigated to the Vodafone 'register page' at which point I then turned off my phone's wi-fi and switched it back on, then clicked register and it worked. If I was already connected to the car's hot-spot prior to registering, I got the same message as you.

HB
That's how you should do it if you follow the guide on the other thread....


stu22
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:36 pm
Location: Colchester

Re: 2020my SIM Card

Post by stu22 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 5:44 pm

Moosexcvolvo wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:37 pm
Happningj wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:27 pm
Has anybody had a problem registering for a Vodafone account?
I get an error message from the Vodafone site saying I have to be connected to the car’s WiFi hotspot to register.
The car says I’m connected and I wouldn’t be able to see the Vodafone site if I wasn’t.
Apparently Volvo know it is a problem but has anybody managed fool it.
It still says it is using data.....
Happningj, Are you sorted, now? If not, I've just fitted my SIM this morning and had the same issue. I found a work-around by setting up an initial connection with the car's hot-spot etc., then navigated to the Vodafone 'register page' at which point I then turned off my phone's wi-fi and switched it back on, then clicked register and it worked. If I was already connected to the car's hot-spot prior to registering, I got the same message as you.

HB
That's how you should do it if you follow the guide on the other thread....


Happningj
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 2:36 pm

Re: 2020my SIM Card

Post by Happningj » Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:12 pm

Thanks for your help. There is a similar thread running on the VOC forum about install issues. Looks like there is some problems with Apple’s IOS or Safari. I’ve just set it up using a Windows PC and it works a treat. All I need to do now is work out what the other stuff does.........
XC40 T3 Inscription | Glacier Silver | Charcoal


Post Reply

Return to “Faults & Technical”