AC - on or off

All Volvo XC40 related discussions
Dermottdog

Post by Dermottdog »

Hey

What are people’s thoughts on wether the AC should be on or off.

Reason for asking is a few years ago, we got a brand new Golf. The manual stated that it’s best to leave it on and at 21 degrees throughout the year for maximum comfort. This we did. Three and a half years later and out of warranty, the AC compressor failed. It’s not a serviceable item and the part alone cost about £1000 if memory serves (genuine VW part).
In all the other cars I’ve owned since, we use the AC in the winter to clear mist from the screen and AC in the summer to cool the car down but never is it left on all the time. Since picking up our car last September, the AC has always been on.

Your thoughts please....
R Design Pro T5 AWD in Crystal White. Convenience Pack, Front Parking and Apple Car. Couldn’t afford anything else!! Arriving late September 2019.

Silver Moose

Post by Silver Moose »

I'm no expert but I think an a/c compressor is more likely to fail through lack of use than continuous use.

As I (think I) understand it, the circulating gas keeps the motor lubricated and the seals in good order. Having said that, I have had V.A.G, cars and, on some models, bad design can lead to pipes rubbing and gas leaking - this can kill a compressor fairly quickly.

My personal choice is to keep it running & keep on eye out for any reduced performance that may suggest a gas leak.........it's a shame that, with the multitude of sensors on modern cars, they don't have pressure sensors in the a/c system.
Real name Carl
T4 Inscription Pro ordered 13/12/2018 - collected 30/3/2019
Bright Silver/Charcoal
Convenience pack, Intellisafe Pro, 360 camera
Silver Moose

Post by Silver Moose »

P.S: Main dealers for all manufacturers will tell you components are not serviceable - they employ fitters, not mechanics!