Phone number of SIM in boot

All Volvo XC40 related discussions
gt40

Post by gt40 »

Anybody got a method for finding the phone number of the SIM card in the boot, beyond removing it?

And, no, I don't have the original documentation - that's far too organised.
T4 R Design FWD in Thunder Grey, with Intellisafe Pro, Winter & Convenience packs plus a few bits & pieces - arrived Sept '19

Starstruck

Post by Starstruck »

Did you buy the SIM yourself?
Is it the free Volvo SIM?

I'm no expert but I don't think the telephone number is printed on the SIM.

If you log onto your SIM account over the internet (with Vodafone if it's the free SIM or your own network if you provided the SIM) then the account details would tell you the IMSI number, it may even tell you the telephone number.

You need some basic info to obtain the number, and that requires some level of organisation :)
vpw

Post by vpw »

You might try to check the USSD coses which you can post from central console. It may be that one of them works: https://www.quora.com/How-do-I-find-my-mobile-number-through-a-dial-pad
MY20 momentum pro t3 automat fwd white + lights + winter + versatility + driver assist + park assist + climate +
gt40

Post by gt40 »

vpw wrote: Wed Dec 18, 2019 12:16 am You might try to check the USSD coses which you can post from central console. It may be that one of them works: https://www.quora.com/How-do-I-find-my-mobile-number-through-a-dial-pad
Good plan, but can't find the correct USSD code.

It was just a Three PAYG sim that I slapped in three months ago and I thought it might need a top-up. I'll just buy another one and keep the relevant documents in a safe place this time i.e. organised

ps - for those that are wondering why not go the free Vodaphone sim route - it seems a bit of a faff with registering etc. A Three £10 sim is still going in my car after 3 months, and there's always the option of bluetooth data sharing. I download maps on the drive using wifi.