Auto Handbrake

All Volvo XC40 related discussions
USERof XC40

Post by USERof XC40 »

Anyone still drive with the Auto Handbrake function activated?

I'm new to automatic gears and found the function a godsend initially, especially at traffic lights.

Now I'm not so sure, it makes maneuvering in tight spaces, particularly on a slope, really hard. It constantly puts on the handbrake at every opportunity, when really I just want a roll or creep.

What do you do; switch it off permanently or just when maneuvering?

hdasmith

Post by hdasmith »

I do. I found the same annoyances where it came in too early, but since having the car serviced in September, and the latest software installed, this very rarely happens now. I’m in a manual, so for quick manoeuvring, not having to worry about the handbrake and being able to concentrate more on clutch and accelerator control is much easier.
Inscription Pro | Pine Grey | Amber Leather | D3 FWD Manual
Ordered 11th May 2018
Delivered 6th November 2018
USERof XC40

Post by USERof XC40 »

Didn't realise the manual gears had it also.
Problem I have with its combination with auto gears is you don't have a clutch.

So when maneuvering on a slope sometimes you just want to roll a bit closer. With auto handbrake the handbrake comes on stopping you from rolling. The only way to glide that last 300mm is to tap the accelerator. With a manual clutch I had more control. Think I'll switch it off, at least for a trial.
Chris B

Post by Chris B »

I drive an automatic and find the auto hold function really useful and covenient. However I do agree it can be a bit of a nuisance when manoeuvering on a slope so I switch it off temporarily when doing so.
T5 R Design Pro AWD in Bursting Blue with Xenium, Winter Plus, Intellisafe and Convenience packs
ChrisLF

Post by ChrisLF »

I only turn it on in traffic. Rest of the time it is off and when manoeuvring slowly I use the creep and control it with the foot brake.