POOR HEAD LIGHTS

New to the Volvo XC40 Forums? Introduce yourself here
bwp

Post by bwp »

Taken delivery of my XC40 inscription with styling kit ,intelligent pro and tinted rear windows one week ago after small delivery delay .Very pleased with car but not happy with head lights .Have contacted dealer and awaiting reply on if it is possible to upgrade the lights .
Has anybody found the lights to be poor and if so what have you done about it .

OneOff

Post by OneOff »

I've been driving for over 40 years in many vehicles. While I'm not sold on the Volvo as a premium brand, I've had Citroen and Renault that have been better in the quality stakes, I can't fault the headlights. They are the best dipped beam/full beam I've ever had.
gt40

Post by gt40 »

bwp wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:27 pm Has anybody found the lights to be poor and if so what have you done about it .
I think it depends on what you are used to, my previous car had Xenon lights and they were quite a bit better than the Volvo's LED lights, but I have another car with LEDs and they are not as strong as the Volvo's. To me, LED lights are ok on full beam but not all that when dipped.

So, yeah, not great but passable.
T4 R Design FWD in Thunder Grey, with Intellisafe Pro, Winter & Convenience packs plus a few bits & pieces - arrived Sept '19
Chris-croft

Post by Chris-croft »

When I ordered my T5 First Edition, the brochure said it came with "Adaptive Shutter Technology" Headlights.
I've tried these head lights on an XC60, and they are superb.
When my T5 arrived it had no such headlights.
When I checked with the dealer, it turns out Volvo had changed the specs, and no XC40 where coming with them or even the option of them.
I think Volvo pulled them because the Xc40 sold that well off brochure, they saw a chance to increase their margin; also they could reserve them for future model year updates.
IMO the headlights are OK, bit a bit rubbish compared to what I thought I was buying.