City safe - how often?

Faults and Technical chat for the Volvo XC40
Telboy

Post by Telboy »

Guys, I've had my FE since March, done 3.5k miles and have the city safe set to normal.

I've had the car in with Volvo as the city safe seems to activate (red car symbol on dash alert) nearly every day despite there clearly being nothing in the way? Volvo have calibrated and checked and double checked etc, saying all seems fine with the system.

My concern is at the moment, when it partially activates the brakes because it's thought I was going to hit something, I have been lucky not to have anything behind me. One day though, I might not be that lucky.

Now I've been driving for some 30 years and have had this feature on other cars where the odd reaction in error has happened, however not on pretty much every journey I make.

Can I therefore ask for honest feedback from the guys and girls that have their cars as to how frequently your city safe seems to trigger in what you would class as 'in error', for example it's thought you were going to hit something when clearly there is nothing in your way?

Would really welcome your feedback please on what you would do with this too as Volvo not being overly supportive on this.
XC40 T5 FE - Bursting with blue and now with some extra blue - Polestar :D

PC40

Post by PC40 »

I’ve had my car about the same time as you and done similar mileage.
I experienced the city safe function about once a week on average. The system seems to take exeption to parked cars on the outside of bends, often in lay-bys. I know I’m going to follow the road and straighten up or turn in to avoid the parked vehicle, but when the car thinks it will hit something unless there is a steering input then it seems to apply the brakes. It clears as soon as I turn the wheel.
I think it’s gone off twice for no apparent reason but cancelled very quickly. I’m not sure what I did to override it but clearly did something to avoid slowing to much.